Inside content area, use arrow keys or tab to access content

FAQs – Business Mobile Banking

Take a look at our frequently asked questions to help you find simple answers to the most common queries about the business mobile app. Just select the section you need help with below.

Getting started

Logging in and out

Features within the app

Getting started

For most customers, this should take just a few minutes. If you don’t yet have Memorable Information set up, you can identify yourself using your card and card reader. You'll then need to set up Memorable Information within the app or Online Banking. You will need to use a card and card reader to register your device.

You must be an existing Online for Business user to use the app. If your account is not set up with Memorable Information you’ll need to use a card reader and card the first time you use the app. This allows you to set up new Memorable Information. If you're not fully registered for Internet Banking, you can do this via our desktop website before you can use the app. You will also need to register your device using a card reader the first time you use the app.

There isn’t currently an app for mobile devices other than iPhone or Android. We’ll continue to make improvements to our Mobile Banking services and to provide new features.

No. Only business banking can be carried out with this app.

We don’t charge for Mobile Banking. You just pay your normal business transaction charges. Your network provider may charge for connectivity when not using a wireless connection, please confirm with your network provider.

If you're changing your mobile phone, just download the app and install it again. The app works on most Apple iOS and Android devices.

We continuously add enhancements and new functionality to Mobile Banking, and our latest apps are even better than before.
We want to ensure that all our customers can experience the full benefits of these upgrades and have taken the decision to stop supporting older versions of the app.

Logging in and out

This is a 'timeout' feature that stops you from accidentally leaving your bank account open on your mobile device. You'll be logged off automatically after a period of inactivity during your current mobile banking session. You can select how long this is in the ‘settings’ option.

The app will automatically log you off after your device remains inactive for the period of time you selected during setup. To manually log off, click the Settings icon in the top right of any screen, followed by Log off.

If you've forgotten your Online for Business password or memorable information, don’t worry, you can reset it on our PC or laptop Online for Business site. Select 'forgotten your password’ or ‘forgotten your username’ on the welcome screen for more details and follow the security steps to verify your identity and reset your details.

You can also reset your password through the app’s Settings menu. Select ‘ Forgotten your password?' and follow the security steps to reset your password.

Yes your username, password and memorable information are the same whether you use a computer or mobile device to access your accounts online. If you don’t yet use memorable information, you’ll be asked to set it up the first time you use the app.

Yes, if you also have Internet Banking with us for your personal accounts, your username, password and memorable information are the same for business banking.

Features within the app

Yes, the app is very secure. You can find out more in our security section.

We take your online security seriously, that’s why we use state-of-the-art anti-fraud systems to identify any unusual activity. We also give you peace of mind with our online fraud guarantee. We guarantee to refund your money in the unlikely event you experience fraud with our Online for Business Internet Banking service – as long as you've been careful, for example, by taking reasonable steps to keep your security information safe. We protect you with safeguards that meet industry standards.
All banking data sent between the app and the bank is securely encrypted. However, you should still take precautions to help keep your data secure, such as:

  • Never share your logon details with anybody. If you want to give someone else access to your accounts, set up delegate access for them (full access or view only)
  • Never respond to emails that ask you to supply your logon details. These are known as phishing emails. We would never ask you to supply your logon details
  • Keep your mobile operating system up to date to ensure you have the latest security enhancements
  • Always enable your mobile phone's security lock or passcode
  • Switch off Bluetooth when you’re not using it
  • Don't accept or open any apps or MMS messages from unknown senders
  • Check and install any software your mobile device provider offers to protect you from online viruses and other hazards
  • Treat the security of your mobile device in the same way as you’d treat the security of a PC.

If you lose your mobile phone, no-one can log on to your account without your Memorable Information, but you should call us immediately on 0345 300 0116Call telephone number 0345 300 0116 or Textphone 0345 300 2280Call telephone number 0345 300 2280 (open 7am to 10pm Monday to Friday and 8am to 6pm Saturday and Sunday).

Call us immediately on +44 1733 232 030Call telephone number +44 1733 232 030. We’re available from 7am to 10pm Monday to Friday and 8am to 6pm Saturday and Sunday.

If you have problems with speech or hearing you can contact us using a textphone from a landline on 0345 300 2280Call telephone number 0345 300 2280 (or +44 1733 347 515Call telephone number +44 1733 347 515 from outside the UK). We’re available from 7am to 10pm Monday to Friday and 8am to 6pm Saturday and Sunday.

“Jailbreaking” or “rooting” means removing safeguards from a phone, so a wider range of apps can be installed – including unofficial ones. When a device has been jailbroken or rooted, it makes it easier to install apps that haven't been properly screened for malware, leaving the device vulnerable to fraudulent attacks. To keep our customers' personal information safe and secure, we don't allow jailbroken or rooted devices to access the app. If you decide to reset your phone to its original manufacturer settings, you should then be able to start using the new app.

If you lose your mobile phone no-one can log on to your account without your Memorable Information, but you should call us immediately on 0345 300 0116Call telephone number 0345 300 0116 or Textphone 0345 300 2280Call telephone number 0345 300 2280 (open 7am to 10pm Monday to Friday and 8am to 6pm Saturday and Sunday).

Yes, you can make payments to existing payees without your card and card reader. New recipients will need to be set up via Online Banking with your card and card reader.

Yes. The app is compatible with standard device screen readers to help you use both Mobile Banking and the branch and ATM locator if you are sight-impaired. To use a screen reader, you'll need to enable the accessibility options in your device settings.

You can quickly and easily look through several years of both current and savings accounts transactions.

The app doesn't currently enable you to set up or amend standing orders, while Direct Debits can only be set up by the person or organisation you’re paying. Please visit the desktop site to set up or amend standing orders.

Yes, depending on your level of access, you can cancel standing orders set up on your accounts if you are registered for Mobile Banking. On the account details screen, select the ‘Standing orders’ tab, find the standing order you want to stop and tap ‘delete’.

Pending debit card transactions are transactions that have been authorised for payment, but which haven’t been taken from your account balance. Pending paid-in cheques are cheques which have been received by us but which are not yet available to spend.

Yes, depending on your level of access, you can cancel Direct Debits set up on your accounts if you are registered for Mobile Banking. On the account details screen, select the ‘Direct Debits’ tab, find the Direct Debit you want to stop and tap ‘Cancel’. Check the details carefully and be sure you really want to cancel a Direct Debit before confirming. Once it’s cancelled, you can only set it up again by contacting the company you’re paying and completing a new Direct Debit instruction.

If you’re cancelling a regular payment, it’s possible that the next payment will still be made even when you’ve cancelled it. This depends on when the next payment is due to be processed. You’ll see a message to let you know if this applies.