Inside content area, use arrow keys or tab to access content

PPI complaints

The deadline to make a PPI complaint passed on 29 August 2019

If you’ve already made a PPI complaint to us before the deadline, you don’t need to do anything. We’ll be in touch as soon as we have an update on your case.

The PPI deadline has prompted a high number of complaints. We’re working through our cases, but our response may take longer than usual. We appreciate that you’ll want to know the outcome as soon as possible.

If you have any questions regarding your existing PPI complaint, please refer to our Existing PPI Complaints section for more information.


How to make a PPI complaint after 29 August 2019

Even though the PPI deadline has passed, there are a small number of scenarios where we may still look at a PPI complaint submitted after the PPI deadline. These include:

Exceptional Circumstances
If the reason you did not complain before the deadline is due to exceptional circumstances. This means something really important happened. Such as, you were seriously ill for an extended period before the deadline. 

Declined Claim
If you made a claim on your PPI policy that was live after 29 August 2017 and the claim was rejected.

If you think your PPI complaint falls into one of the above scenarios, you can make a PPI complaint by using our online complaint form.

For PPI complaints with exceptional circumstances, please tell us why you are submitting your PPI complaint after the deadline in as much detail as possible. This includes any relevant dates. We’ll consider the circumstances on a case by case basis and we may request additional information from you if required. 

For PPI complaints relating to a declined claim, please provide as much detail as possible. This includes the date of your declined claim and why you’re unhappy with the PPI policy.

Online

To make a PPI complaint online, please click the link below. You’ll need any information you require to hand, as our online form will time out after a 15 minute period of inactivity and you’ll have to start the form again.

Make a PPI complaint

Post

To make a PPI complaint by post, please write to us at Lloyds Bank, PPI Customer Services, BX1 1LT.

Telephone

To make a PPI complaint by telephone, please call 0800 151 0292. (Lines open 8am to 6pm Monday to Friday and 9am to 2pm Saturday) or +44 (0)207 649 9015 if you're calling from abroad.


Existing PPI Complaints

If you‘ve already made a PPI complaint to us, you don’t need to do anything else. We’ll make sure it's reviewed. If you’ve recently sent us a complaint, we’ll send you an acknowledgement letter soon. There’s no need to call us to check if we’ve received it. We’ll be in touch as soon as we have an update. The PPI deadline has prompted a high number of complaints. We’re working through our cases, but our response may take longer than usual. 

Enquiries and complaints sent to us directly by you

  • If you made an enquiry before the deadline and we find a PPI policy, we’ll automatically open a complaint on your behalf. You don’t need to submit a separate complaint.
  • We’ll send you an acknowledgement letter to confirm we’ve received your enquiry or complaint.
  • Please wait to receive this letter before contacting us for an update.

Enquiries and complaints sent to us by a Claims Management Company (CMC) you’ve authorised to act on your behalf

  • If you made an enquiry before the deadline and we find a PPI policy, we’ll automatically open a complaint on your behalf. You don’t need to submit a separate complaint.
  • We’ll contact your Claims Management Company to confirm we’ve received your enquiry or complaint.
  • If you want an update, please get in touch with your Claims Management Company directly.

To find out more, read our Frequently Asked Questions (FAQS).


Accessibility information

We’re aware our customers may require different levels of assistance and are committed to making our products and services as accessible as possible. Our PPI complaints process has been designed to make it as easy as possible for everyone wishing to make a complaint.

Our websites are designed to be compatible with assistive technology, this includes screen readers, text-to-speech software and reading aids. You can also change the colour of our websites to help make the text clearer to read.

Can we help make things easier? Please tell us if you require additional support (e.g. someone helps manage your affairs), or you have a physical or mental health condition. Also, if you need us to communicate with you in a different format (e.g. large print), please let us know. You can contact us by phone on 0800 151 0292 or use the appropriate section within our PPI online complaint form.

If you have a speech or hearing impairment, you can contact us using the Next Generation Text Service. If you’re Deaf and a BSL user, you can talk to us live through a BSL interpreter online using our BSL SignVideo Service.

For more information on our commitment to assisting our customers please visit the Accessibility section of our website.


Other organisations offering information and help with PPI complaints

The following bodies have information relating to PPI complaints and /or advice on making a complaint:

Financial Ombudsman ServiceVisit the Financial Ombudsman Service website

The Financial Ombudsman Service is a free, independent service for settling disputes between financial businesses and their customers. They can deal with complaints about a wide range of financial issues, including PPI. If you’re not happy with our final response, or haven't received a final response within 8 weeks, you can complain to the Financial Ombudsman ServiceVisit the Financial Ombudsman Service website within 6 months of receiving our final response.

Financial Conduct AuthorityVisit the Financial Conduct Authority website

The Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) regulates the financial sector and protects consumers. They provide information about PPI and can help you understand it, but can't give you advice about your individual circumstances or complaint.

The following bodies have information relating to PPI complaints and/or advice on making a complaint:

Prudential Regulation AuthorityVisit the Prudential Regulation Authority website

Citizens AdviceVisit the Citizens Advice website

Which?Visit the Which? website

MoneySavingExpert.com

Financial Services Compensation SchemeVisit the FSCS website

Money Advice ServiceVisit the Money Advice Service website

Frequently asked questions

If you submitted your complaint before the PPI deadline of 29 August 2019, it is not affected by this time limit. We’ll review your complaint and respond as soon as we can.

We’ll send you a letter to confirm we’ve received your enquiry/complaint. Please wait to receive our acknowledgement letter before contacting us for an update as we’ll only be able to provide limited information at this time.  We’ll write to you with either an update and next steps, or our final decision within eight weeks of the date of your complaint.  

We’ll provide a full response as soon as possible and aim to do this within eight weeks of receiving your complaint. If we’re unable to resolve your complaint within the initial eight weeks, we’ll write to you at this stage explaining why we’re not able to make a decision and tell you when you’ll receive a final response from us.

If you’re still waiting for your payment and it’s been more than 28 days since you received our decision letter, please call our helpline on
0800 151 0292.

If your case is complex it may take us longer and we’ll keep you regularly updated.

In all cases, any interest due will be adjusted right up until the date of payment.

We’re committed to giving your complaint the attention it deserves and will send you our full written response as soon as our investigations are complete. Where we’re unable to complete our investigations within eight weeks, we’ll write to tell you this.

Yes, if you made the complaint before the PPI deadline of 29 August 2019. You have six months from the date of our final response to provide any further evidence.

Yes, if you made the complaint before the PPI deadline of 29 August 2019. You have six months from the date of our final response to provide any further evidence.

The deadline to submit a PPI complaint passed on 29 August 2019. If you think there were exceptional circumstances or you’re unhappy about a declined claim (dated after 29 August 2017), then you can make a PPI complaint by using our online complaint form, writing to us or calling us.

If you’re unhappy about an issue that is not related to the sale of your PPI policy, you can still make a complaint. This could be a concern about the way we handled your PPI policy. Such as, a delay with a claim on your policy, an administration error or charging you an incorrect amount for PPI.

If you wish to make a complaint that is not related to the sale of your PPI policy, please call the number provided within your PPI policy booklet. A list of useful telephone numbers can be found on our Existing PPI customers page if you can’t locate your own paperwork. 

Yes, if you have new or different concerns, please contact us within six months of our response letter and we’ll take another look at your complaint.

You can also refer your complaint to the Financial Ombudsman Service (FOS), but you must do so within six months of our response letter.

We’ll work with the FOS and provide them with all of the relevant case notes to allow them to complete their investigation. We’ll also liaise directly with the FOS to deal with complaints as quickly as we can.

In the meantime, we’ll be unable to discuss the complaint with you, whilst FOS completes their investigation.

If we received your complaint more than eight weeks ago, we’ll have explained that you can forward your complaint to the Financial Ombudsman Service. This is a free, independent service for settling disputes between financial services firms and their customers. You may wish to contact the Financial Ombudsman Service first before deciding on what action to take or review the frequently asked questions on its website. In all cases where redress is owed, you’ll not be disadvantaged by any delay as any interest due will be calculated right up until the date of payment.

We take all complaints very seriously and are committed to handling them on a fair and consistent basis. In line with our complaint-handling policy we’ll assess your PPI complaint and will provide compensation, including the backdating of interest and payments, where appropriate.

From 1 October 2013, the tax laws changed and HM Revenue & Customs (HMRC) requirements mean we must deduct income tax at the basic rate (currently 20%) from any interest paid. HMRC treat the additional payment which relates to 8% interest as taxable income.

If we deduct more tax than you have to pay you may be able to reclaim all or some of the tax deducted from HMRC.

R85 forms cannot be accepted with this type of interest. If you pay tax at rates higher than the basic rate any additional tax due on this should be discussed with your tax office. For more information on PPI advice please call the HMRC tax helpline on 0300 200 3300.

You can download extra copies of our PPI Questionnaire using the Download our PPI Questionnaire link.

Existing PPI customers

PPI policy information and how to make a claim.

Find out more