What is paper-free?
Paper-free is a way for your business to get statements and invoices from us online, instead of by post. Your business can register your preference to go paper-free and as Digital Inbox is available, you’ll be able to access your documents in your secure online Inbox. We’ll send an email to your business email address to let you know when a new document is in your Inbox.
You’ll be able to access your documents in Online for Business on desktop and the mobile app. It's a secure way to cut down on your paperwork, and makes it easy to find the information you need in one place. Your documents are available for 10 years, and you can save or print a copy at any time.
We might still need to send you some documents by post, but we’ll reduce this as much as we can.
If you don't choose to go paper-free, we'll keep sending you paper copies. You can also update your preferences at any time, in case you change your mind.
Find out how to update your paper preferences here
Any Full Access User can update paper preferences and change the business email address. Your business has the option to manage who can make these changes by amending their access. Learn more about user access levels.
Frequently asked questions
You can choose different options for each of your accounts. This means you could choose paper-free for one account, and by post for another.
You’ll find the Inbox in the Account Overview by selecting the envelope icon at the top of the page.
We’ll send you an email when you have new online documents to view.
Once you’re paper-free, invoices and statements will be the first documents sent to you online. It will take us longer to start sending other correspondence into the Inbox so we'll make sure these are still posted to you in the meantime.
We may not be able to send everything to you online, so we'll make sure these are sent to you in the post.
All Online for Business users will have a view of the Inbox. The type of documents each user can see in the Inbox will vary. This helps us to protect the more sensitive details that we may need to share in some of your documents.
What a user can access in the Inbox is controlled by their user access levels:
- Full Access Users will be able to see all the documents that we send online.
- Delegate Users and View Only Users will see statements and invoices. They will only see these for the accounts they have access to online. They will not see any correspondence for these accounts.
Learn more about user access levels.
Each user will have their own view of the Inbox. If one user reads a document in the Inbox, it will still appear as unread for all other users.
Don't worry, you can’t delete documents from the Digital Inbox. That way they’ll be there if you need them.
If you go paper-free, we must have an up-to-date email address for your business. We'll use it to let your business know when there are new online documents to view. Once we have the right email, you can change how we contact you.
If you change the business email address, we'll update the one we use when we contact your business. This means that anything we send to the current email will go the new email address. You may want to let others in your business know if this affects them.
The marketing preferences we have for your business will not change.