Some savings accounts can be closed online. You can do this if:
You will need to transfer all but £5 or less out of the account. Once the transfer is complete you will be able to see the option to close the account.
Yes, unless you have previously requested that both parties named on the account sign their names to authorise any changes.
Yes, if you choose to close your savings account online we will calculate any remaining interest on the account and if applicable, transfer it along with the remaining balance to an account chosen by you within 24 hours. A statement showing your closing balance will be shown on screen, once your account is closed. This screen can be printed or saved.
If you cannot close your account online or prefer to, you can close your account at one of our branches with a counter.
Log into Internet Banking and you will be taken to the accounts overview. Select 'More actions' on the savings account you wish to close.
Choose ‘Account services’ and select the ‘Close account’ option.
The next page details the balance of your account and requires you to select where you want to transfer the funds and why you wish to close the account. Once this is complete, select the 'Continue' button.
You will then be shown a summary page detailing the transaction. Check the details and if you are happy, select the 'Confirm' button at the bottom of the screen to complete your request.
Finally, you will see a confirmation page confirming that your account is now closed. You may still see your account listed on your accounts overview page but it will be removed within 24 hours.
Be sure to take note of the ‘What you need to do’ section.